The big box of journals

20141123_225341Part of the Clearing the Spare Room mini-project (which included tackling the mystery bag) was figuring out what to do with the pile of journals I’ve accumulated over the years.

I had thought that I had journals dating back to my early teenage-years, but I must have had a ruthless moment as some point in the past as they are nowhere to be found. The ones I do have date back to my university days – half my life ago!

The decision over what to do with these isn’t just about whether or not we have the space for them or whether we need them – we have space, and we don’t need them in our everyday lives – but more about “What’s the point of keeping a journal?”.

When I was writing these – was it to help me process my emotions? Was it as a scrapbook for me to look back on? Was I making a record of my life for others to look back on? For me it’s the first two and definitely not the last. My deepest thoughts, emotions and anxieties are not things I want to spend my time reading, or for my friends and family to wade through once I’m gone. I do think, though, that it would be nice to have a brief record of key dates and events in my life.

So I’ve decided to go through these, summarise the key events in a bullet journal style, and then destroy the originals – maybe with a couple of exceptions, keeping journals that I used as scrapbooks.

So they are all in date order in my big box of journals along with photo albums from the same time period. I’m also using these as a reference point for key events, and sorting through the photos that can be thrown away at the same time.

2 thoughts on “The big box of journals

  1. I think that’s a great idea, bullet journal, love it. It’s what I’m doing with my photos, going through and compressing to a highlight album, or should I call it like u, a bullet album?

Leave a Reply

