An adventure in dressmaking

DressI’m taking dressmaking lessons. In some ways this could count as a simple pleasure – learning to craft your own clothes – but in reality it’s not all that simple. I’ve picked a relatively complicated pattern, chosen to make a ball dress as my first project, and selected some difficult fabrics to work with, all in addition to learning new techniques. All that complication aside, though, I find myself entirely absorbed by the process and totally in flow when I’m working on it. And that makes it simply pleasurable.

Leave a Reply

