House move countdown – 5 weeks to go

20141104_181038And so it’s upon us. Our next house move is imminent. Boxes have been delivered by the removals company, and I’m about to start the task of packing up the house again. It was this activity that started me on the minimalist track in the first place, so I’m hoping that this time around, there’ll be less stuff to move.

Crunch time will be when the lorry is loaded – last time it was full to the brim. I’m hoping that this time it will only be 3/4 full – let’s see if I’ve met my target.

We have now been through the entire house on a decluttering rampage. It’s taken us 18 months (although things have slowed in the last few months as there’s been other things to do), but we have been through every room, every cupboard, every drawer and got rid of stuff.

There are a couple of things remaining.. One box of gardening stuff sitting in the garage that I had set aside to put on ebay – my ebay experience (lots of hassle for not much cash) has meant that this box now needs sorting through and the items taking to the charity shop.

A few boxes and bags of mementos (including the mystery bag) which my husband has been shunting from room to room, and now to the garage in a desperate attempt to clear enough space in our spare room for it to be usable. This pile of stuff is a project in its own right, I had plans for it, but now it looks like I am going to get ruthless. Watch this space – the closer we get to moving date, the more likely it is that I will just chuck the lot away..

One thought on “House move countdown – 5 weeks to go

Leave a Reply

