Focus on fitness III

image

Tough days have alternated with easy days – which have involved hikes instead of runs, and fewer workout sessions. I seem to have done more strength and core workouts and interval sessions this week than in my whole lifetime; and they have included several of the circuit training sessions I was dreading. Fair play to the personal trainers, though, who have come up with umpteen variations of exercises each session in order to eliminate the risk of boredom.

Today I had a one to one session with the personal trainer, who assessed my strengths and weaknesses and give me a regime of pre- and post-run stretches to address my weaker areas. For the first time ever, I feel like I know what exercises I should be doing and what the purpose is.

Most of my fitness is running and walking, so one of my main points for change is to introduce a new sport or fitness type into my schedule.

My other major learning point has been about my eating habits, so will touch on that in my next post.

Leave a Reply

