31 hours of free time a week…

20131206_163148-001I often feel like I don’t have enough time in the evenings and at weekends to get things done. My to-do list is often quite long, and I don’t really get much crossed off – especially in the evening when all I want to do is flop on the sofa when I get back from work, made worse by the fact that it’s dark when I get home at the moment.

A couple of weeks ago, I mapped out a typical week – blocking out sleep time, work time, and other normal chores – and it turned out I have 31 hours of spare time a week.. Admittedly most of this time is at weekends, but there is a total of about 12 hours across my weekday evenings that I tend to spend mostly watching TV.

So what should I do with this newfound spare time?

  • Get things crossed off the to-do list?
  • Do the e-learning for my project management qualification?
  • Do some exercise?
  • Take the dog for longer walks?
  • Relax?

And if I gave up watching TV, would filling the time with other chores and hobbies that require energy make me feel even more tired?

So, in the last week or two, I’ve started to get all my evening chores done as quickly as possible when I get home, tackle one or two of the things on my to-do list, and then relax. It’s paying off – it’s how I managed to get through the last push on my employment law assignment that’s been on the to-do list for six months.

Leave a Reply

